Typical Training Week

I’m now a few months into training with a new coach so thought I’d break down my typical training week to self-assess what I’m doing well, and what could do with improvement. Below is a screenshot (from the free online scheduling/results tracker) of my training week with some high-level stats below.

TypicalTrainingWeek

Total hours: ~17hrs

What’s included: 3 sports, strength training, commuting to work via bike (recovery rides)
What’s not included: stretching, foam rolling, etc.

You’ll notice there aren’t any rest days in here. When I first started training this way I was quite scared but for the most part the volume has been more spreadout that I historically had been trained or trained myself. Previously, I’d have a couple really hard days in the week and I would need one full day off to sleep more and generally recover. That said, the recovery weeks are super easy, and I really have to hold back to allow myself that time to recover. After doing a couple training cycles I’ve noticed the pattern: feel great at the start of a 3 week block; first week I want to do way more than prescribed, second week feels fine, as I get towards the end of the third week I’m looking at my phone debating whether to beg for another rest day. Then as the recovery week kicks in I find myself with more and more energy, exhibited by: unprompted dancing in the kitchen while cooking, higher es per week, etc.

Typical Non-Busy workout day

For example: 60 min recovery ride and 50-60 minute swim.
These days are a breeze: I ride to work on my mountain bike (30-35 minutes), ride to the pool, do the session and ride home (another 30-35 mins total). The bike ‘workout’ is broken up and is quicker than commuting. These kind of days I allow myself to make social plans, or offer to cook for the girlfriend, etc.

Typical Busy workout day

For example: 2hr bike ride w 40 min run .
These can be a pain because sometimes it’s asking me for a 3 hour continuous workout. I couldn’t do these in the a.m. without getting up at 5am which is just too early for me to do regularly. Generally I can handle it though: aiming to get out of work at 5:30pm, ride to the gym/home and try to start my workout at 6-6:15pm. Let’s say that 2hr bike ride has a 15-30 minute warmup, I’ll forgo that as I will have just got off the bike. So that means at home I’ll start at 6pm with 90 mins of riding, maybe 5 minutes transition and a 40 min run. I’ll be done at about 8:15pm. These kind of days I allow myself to order from GrubHub or simply stick a pizza in the oven, or when desparate an frozen burrito in the microwave.

Other examples

Most other days fall in the middle and I’m able to do one of my workouts in the morning and another one after work. In summer the 90 minute bike workouts are a breeze as I’ll ride loops of central park (which I live 2 blocks from) and then head straight to work from there (carrying my stuff in a backpack or when I’m organised, it’ll already be at the office where there is a shower). If I’m on the bike at 6:30, I’ll be at the office at 8am and at my desk by 8:30am. Then I can work til I finish, swim and still have time to eat dinner.

Working Life

On the whole my work/life balance and I’ve progressively made lots of optimizations to make it work. I used to work a job that had me in the office 8-6:30 without fail. It was an early enough start that I couldn’t get a long workout in the morning, and if I did it in the evening the fatigue normally followed me the next day. Now I’m working more like 8:30-5 or 8:30-6, working additional hours from home when required. For instance, yesterday I ran out the door at 5:30, went to swim, got home and cooked some food, and was able to work from 8-10pm. For me, that helps me balance being able to train and getting ahead at work. It took a couple years to find a role that allows me to not to be the ‘problem-solver’ all the time which normally meant I’d have to be in one spot until whatever issue was going on, was solved. Now my work is more about strategy so there is the occasional fire I have to work to help put out, but generally I’m more flexible, and can even think problems through during a low-intensity bike ride or run.

Optimizations

Bike parking in my building: Riding to/from work means I’m on the bike for ~ 5 hours per week. It’s generally recovery riding, but it means that when I have a bike workout I can finish the ride at work.

Shower in my building: There is a shower in my work building which is great if you’re finishing a 2 hr bike ride and don’t want dirty looks from your colleagues for being the smelly guy.

Gym in my building: There is also a gym in my work building that is relatively inexpensive (that’s where the showers are). I reason that by riding I’m saving more than $100/month in subway expenses, so the $55/month cost still leaves me ahead. It also means I can do strength workouts and treadmill workouts at lunch if I have the time. I generally don’t but it’s quite liberating sometimes when it gets to 6pm and I have nothing to do but cook dinner and chill.

Running to work: Because of the above it also means I can run to work. It’s 9km so doesn’t work for all workouts but some days it just makes sense to run to work.

Pool is on my commute path: For those days when you’re tired, the worst thing is getting home and having to go out again. I HAVE to ride past my pool to get home. It’s pretty hard to justify continuing the ride home when you’re already where you’re supposed to be.

Sun deck, and sun bed next to the pool. Sometimes I get to the pool and I’m wiped. I don’t want to swim. I’ll grab a snack and some water and take in whatever I can, lie down for 20 minutes and catch a few ZZZs. It has been the difference between working out and not working out before.

Great community: My gym also has a great tri team which makes training so much more fun. I’m a part-time coach with them, mostly filling in when they need subs. They have  many members so it means that whenever I’m training there is normally someone there to share the pain/experience. It’s harder to back out when you know your friends/rivals will be there. They also have 20 Computrainers which means I can do a group workout whilst doing the session my coach gave me.

Flexible home life: My partner in crime (the girlfriend) also trains and works a lot which means we’re very accommodating of each others needs. She works Tus-Fri until the late evening so it means I can do the mass of my training while she’s working. She also teaches spin/circuit class on Saturday mornings which is when I’ll get my long ride in. Overall it makes it quite easy as there is normally one person home a little earlier than the other and willing to get started making dinner. And as my Sunday workout is pretty short and neither of us are working we can make plans to hangout and have fun.

Leave a comment